An open letter to Ireland: Dear whiny bitches…

unshavedmouse

Dear Whiny Bitches,

How’ve you been? I am good. Let’s talk about that recent survey. You know the one? Recently something called the Good Country Index released a survey stating that Ireland was the “best” country in the world. Now, there’s a been a lot of confusion on this so first of all let’s just clarify that the survey was not necessarily the best place in the world to live, the survey was actually trying to measure which countries contribute most to the welfare of humanity (in stuff like global aid, peace-keeping, diplomacy, fighting climate change and so on) and which countries are dragging everyone else down. Now, I’ll admit I was surprised that we got the number one spot, not stunned, but surprised. But sure, we do give a lot of money to overseas aid and we’ve been involved in UN Peacekeeping missions since the early sixties so fine…

View original post 1,051 more words

About Karen Ironside

I have had some incredible opportunities in life. Although born in Ireland, I moved to London when I was 18. At 23 I moved to Poland where I stayed for just under 5 years. During this time I was lucky enough to get the chance to really get to know Poland and to be adopted by a Polish family. I then returned to England, where I trained to be a teacher. Not long after I met the man who was to become my husband. We moved a lot as he was in the army, when he left we moved to Stratford upon Avon (where Shakespeare is from). Until moving to India, I had been a Head of English for the last 6 years in two middle schools. During this time, I became incredibly ill having been misdiagnosed when I had a totally treatable illness. Consequently, I was lucky not to die. This year of ill-health gave me the time to reflect on who I was and what I wanted from my life. So, when the opportunity to move to India came up not long after I was properly diagnosed - how could we turn it down? My husband now works for a UK car company and we live in Pune. We will be here for at least 3 years having arrived May 2015. I teach once a week in a very rural high school outside of Pune. It is some of the most challenging teaching of my life but also some of the most rewarding. I started writing a blog a few months after I became ill. Both as a means of informing friends and family about what was going on and in hindsight as a means of helping me process the new reality I found myself in. I continue to write for the same reason.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I have lots of opinions, some you may agree with, some not! I would love to know what you think (good or bad).

